Hole 13 – Troon North Golf Club – Scottsdale, AZ

Troon®, the leader in club management, development, and marketing, announces the return of the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series, a multi-tournament series providing high-level amateurs a chance to compete throughout the year. The 2020-21 Troon Saguaro Amateur Series has grown to feature seven events in three states. The Grapevine Amateur, the first event of the 2020-21 Troon Saguaro Amateur Series, was won by Finigan Tilly at Silverado Resort and Spa in Napa, California in January. The Sizzler, the second event of the 2020-21 Series, will be held June 21-24 at Troon North Golf Club (Monument Course) in Scottsdale, Ariz.

The 2020-21 Troon Saguaro Amateur Series includes the following events:

  • 2020 GRAPEVINE AMATEUR – January 6-9 at Silverado Resort and Spa (won by Finigan Tilly)
  • 2020 SIZZLER AMATEUR – June 21-24 at Troon North (Monument Course) in Scottsdale, Arizona
  • 2020 ROCKY MOUNTAIN AMATEUR – July 13-15 at Colorado National Golf Club in Erie, Colorado
  • 2020 SILVERADO AMATEUR – July 28-30 at Silverado Golf Club in Napa, California
  • 2020 GOBBLER AMATEUR – November 22-25 at Sewailo Golf Club in Tucson, Arizona
  • 2020 AGAVE AMATEUR –  December 18-21 at Shadow Hills Golf Club in Indio, California
  • 2021 SAGUARO AMATEUR (Troon Saguaro Amateur Series Championship) – January 1-4, 2021 at Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club in Maricopa, Arizona

The concept of the Saguaro Amateur and its evolution into a series is the brainchild of University of Colorado Head Men’s Golf Coach Roy Edwards, University of Wyoming Director of Golf Programs Joe Jensen, and Ak-Chin Southern Dunes General Manager Brady Wilson. Jensen and Edwards have hosted the Saguaro Amateur at Ak-Chin Southern Dunes since 2014, and continue to administer the Series.

“We are committed to providing a world-class competitive experience to the top players in amateur golf and Troon has been invaluable in executing that goal,” said Chairman Roy Edwards. “Coach Jensen and I expect to provide our players the best overall competitive golf experience and we partnered with the industry standard in golf management in Troon.  The 2020-21 Series is the biggest and best yet.”

Troon has been the series’ title sponsor since its inception in 2017. Other supporting partners include Ouray Sportswear, Imperial Sportswear, Travis Mathew, Bushnell, AM & E, and Avis Rental Cars. Current PGA TOUR and Korn Ferry Tour players Xander Schauffele, Grayson Murray, Rico Hoey and Taylor Moore are former Series participants. Previous Troon Saguaro Amateur Series champions include:

  • 2017-2018 – Blake Hathcoat
  • 2018-2019 – Trevor Olkowski
  • 2019-2020 – Max Sekulic

All Troon Saguaro Amateur Series events are World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) and Scratch Player World Amateur Ranking (SPWAR) ranked events. Each event winner and top point earners will receive exemptions into the season-ending Saguaro Amateur at Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club in Maricopa, Ariz. January 1-4, 2021. At the conclusion of the Saguaro Amateur, the top players on the final points list will all be awarded a Bushnell Rangefinder and a 2021 Troon National Twosome Card.  The Series Champion has also traditionally been awarded an exemption into the Arizona Open.

For more information and entry details for the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series, visit www.SaguaroAmateur.com or contact Series Chairman Roy Edwards at r@saguaroamateur.com.